Lantos Foundation & Roosevelt Institute Partnership

2012 FDR International Disability Rights Award Re-Established

CONCORD, NH - The Lantos Foundation for Human Rights and Justice is pleased to announce that the FDR International Disability Rights Award will once again be granted to a United Nations Member State. The purpose of the award is to recognize that nation’s significant progress in implementing and meeting the goals and ideals characterized by the UN Convention for the Rights of Persons with Disabilities (CRPD) and the Universal Declaration of Human Rights.

Lantos Foundation President Dr. Katrina Lantos Swett said, "Where there is injustice, people with disabilities often face discrimination and the most appalling treatment. We believe the rights of one are the rights of all, and this work is a natural extension of our efforts on behalf of human rights around the world."

Roosevelt Institute Chair Anna Eleanor Roosevelt said her organization is pleased to have an enthusiastic partner in the Lantos Foundation.  “We have sponsored the award since its beginnings,” she said. “We’re grateful for this partnership and opportunity to once again select a deserving winner."
Originally established in 1995, this esteemed award has recognized ten Member States of the United Nations. The last nation to qualify for the award was New Zealand in 2008.

The 2012 recipient will be announced on December 3rd, UN International Day of Persons with Disabilities, and honored at a presentation ceremony in the spring of 2013.

The award is now administered jointly by the Roosevelt Institute and the Lantos Foundation for Human Rights and Justice. It will be presented annually at the United Nations in New York to the Head of State of the honored nation, in the presence of the Secretary General. In addition, a $50,000 cash award will be given to an outstanding non-governmental program (NGO) working in the honored nation on behalf of persons with disabilities.

More information about the award can be found at the FDR International Disability Rights Award website.